PlayStation 4

21Feb13

Having skipped any and all stuff PS3 related in favor of XBOX360 during this last console cycle, looking at the PS4 all I can say is… I’m in.

I like a lot of the features they’ve shown, particularly about the OS/UI and Gaikai stuff. A lot of the updates and changes made to the XBOX dashboard piss me off and annoy me. There is practically zero customization and I’m bombarded with ads the whole fucking time, even though I’m paying $60 a year (after they already raised the cost by $10). The fact that it looks like the PS4 homepage stuff can be tailored to the user is incredibly attractive.

The PSVita now might mean something, still not gonna get one just yet, but I might. I also like the social aspect of being able to play with, take over, and stream with/to friends while on a voice chat type of thing. Ustream incorporation sounds both awesome and terrifying; not everyone is meant to be a caster, especially nowadays when most people can’t put complete sentences together like intelligent/educated human beings capable of higher thought.

If you want to read up on it, I found Alex Navarro’s Sony/PS4 meeting recap pretty good. You can also see the full press conference with commentary and the occasional heckling from the GiantBomb crew (the best way to watch!) here. If you don’t want their commentary, Google is over there.

I was pretty impressed with how good Killzone and Infamous looked, Deep Down is too vague to really get excited even though I love me a good medieval action RPG, and was thoroughly impressed by The Witness. Watch Dogs still looks interesting, Destiney was big last week but it’s not exactly a new announcement. Everything else was meh tho and definitely not enough to sell a console, but it was enough for a teaser; and still the SquareEnix tech demo is nothing new. I just hope they don’t shit the bed again when it comes to software support.

Anyway, exams over for the moment, off to play StarCraft2.